GGPoker Super MILLION$ Week partypoker MILLIONS Online
Event #7: €10,400 Main Event Championship

Wade Gets Paid Off, But Did His Opponent Say Fold?

Wade's winner photo from Event #4

Action folded to Event #4 champion Tristan Wade on the button and he raised to 200. Michel Pomaret reraised from the small blind to 700 and the big blind folded. Wade made the call.

The flop came down {Q-Hearts}{8-Hearts}{6-Spades} and Pomaret checked. Wade checked behind and the turn brought the {10-Diamonds}. After Pomaret checked for a second time, Wade bet 800. Pomaret called.

The river completed the board with the {5-Spades}. Pomaret checked a third time and Wade bet 1,700. Then, things got interesting.

Pomaret announced his action and the dealer said, "Call," to let Wade know that Pomaret had made the call. At this point, Wade tabled his hand and revealed the {A-Clubs}{Q-Spades} for top pair. Pomaret turned over the {A-Hearts}{K-Hearts} for ace high to show Wade, but he never actually put the chips forward after his verbal declaration. The dealer then asked Pomaret for the 1,700 to pay off Wade and Pomaret argued that he said fold and not call. Because of his action, the word "call" and "fold" sounded extremely similar from Pomaret. The dealer heard call and Wade heard the same thing, hence the reason he turned his hand over right away. Pomaret argued he said fold.

The floor was summoned and the situation was explained. It was ruled that because the dealer heard "call" come from Pomaret's mouth, it would have to be a call. Another factor in the floor's decision was that after the dealer repeated "call" to let Wade and the table know the action, Pomaret never objected. He only objected after the dealer asked for the chips.

In the end, Pomaret was forced to pay the 1,700 to Wade and the table moved on to the next hand.

Contagem de Fichas
Tristan Wade us 33,500 3,500

Tags: Michel PomaretTristan Wade