The hand started off rather inconspicuously, with Connor Drinan opening the action from middle position and [Removed:17] defending his big blind.
Then, before any subsequent action took place, Drinan checked.
The floor got called over, and it took Drinan some time to convince the brush he was just goofing around. Nevertheless, if Yan didn't bet, the action would stand. As it was, the flop came , Yan checked and Drinan had to check behind.
On the turn, Yan checked and Drinan bet 5,000. Yan flicked in the call.
"All In," Drinan suddenly said.
It was before the river card was even dealt, and the dealer instantly called over the floor again. Drinan might have been goofing around before, but with the previous ruling made, it was clear what would happen: if Yan didn't change the action, Drinan's verbal all in declaration would be binding.
Yan elected to check the that appeared on the river. Drinan had to move all in, as per the ruling, which was for his tournament life. Yan had to call a bet of 21,700, and gave it thirty seconds of thought before calling.
"Nice call," Drinan quipped.
Yan's pair of queens was enough to send the EPT Barcelona €10,000 High Roller packing in rather unusual fashion. Drinan elected to re-enter right away, giving him a fresh stack of 50,000 to play with.