2019 World Series of Poker Europe

Event #55: $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold'em

Team Ramirez Leads After Day 1 of Event #55: $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold'em; Teams Wang & Rocha Also Bag

poolshir • Nível 10: 400-800, 100 ante
Juan Ramirez, Isai Coello

After ten 60-minute levels, Day 1 of Event #55: $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold'em has come to an end. There were 1,032 teams in total who decided to register, which was more entries than the previous two years creating a total prize pool of $928,800.

At the end of the day, 242 teams are left battling for those coveted gold WSOP bracelets and the first-place prize of $175,805. Only 155 teams of the ones that have made it through will be making the money, with Day 2 getting underway on Thursday, June 28, at 12pm local time. The team of Juan Ramirez, Isai Coello, and Dustin Pattinson are the team currently occupying the top of the chip counts with 193,000 in chips.

Bracelet winner Michael Wang and his teammates Dan Zack and Ajay Chabra also managed to bag big with 113,800. Multiple WSOP Circuit Ring winner Alex Rocha has also found a bag with 102,400. Rocha formed a team with his girlfriend Megan Milburn and her mother Joanne Milburn. Multiple bracelet winner Steven Wolansky teamed up with Zach Efland and bagged 99,100.

Michael Wang
Michael Wang

Other notable teams making it through the big field include Victor Chong - Pete Chen - Michael Soyza - Phachara Wongwichit (86,900), Mohsin Charania – Sunny Patel (78,700), Jason Wheeler - Ludovic Geilich (64,500), Rob Perelman - Joseph Cheong (49,100), 888poker ambassador Chris Moorman is also through thanks to team captain Jeremy Menard with 36,200, which is below average but still gives them enough to play with.

Unfortunately, not every team was lucky enough to make it to Day 2. DJ MacKinnon – Esther Taylor won't be making the final table this year. Other teams like Allen Kessler – Lena Evans – Roland Israelashvili – Jeremiah Degreef, Alex Papazian – Sorin Drajneanu, Duff Charette – Alex Foxen – Kristen Bicknell – Chance Kornuth, Jonathan Tamayo – Joe McKeehen, Theo Tran – Tim and Tom West, Felipe Ramos – Natasha Mercier – Albert Daher – Aylar Lie, and Jared Jaffee - Phil Kessel -Blake Kessel – Jeff Palarino all fell at the many hurdles Day 1 brought them.

DJ MacKinnon
DJ MacKinnon

Day 2 starts at noon, Thursday, June 28 in the white section of the Pavilion room. Another ten levels of 60-minutes each are scheduled without any breaks except for the color-up breaks which will place after Level 16 and 18. When the 242 remaining teams return, they will continue with a small blind of 500, big blind of 1,000 and a running ante of 100.

The PokerNews live reporting team will be there from the moment the team captains open their bags until the final players tag their chips for the final day so make sure to keep your eyes on the updates!

Tags: Ajay ChabraAlex FoxenAlex RochaAllen KesslerAylar LieBlake KesselChance KornuthChris MoormanDan ZackDJ MacKinnonDuff CharetteEsther TaylorFelipe RamosJared JaffeeJason WheelerJeff PalarinoJeremy MenardJoanne MilburnJoe McKeehenJonathan TamayoJoseph CheongJuan RamirezKristen BicknellLena EvansLudovic GeilichMichael SoyzaMichael WangMohsin CharaniaNatasha MercierPete ChenPhachara WongwichitPhil KesselRob PerelmanRoland IsraelashviliSorin DrajneanuSteven WolanskySunny PatelTheo TranTom WestVictor Chong