2019 World Series of Poker Europe

Event #49: $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha 8-Handed Championship

Welcome to Day 1 of Event #49: $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha 8-Handed Championship

Tommy Le

The biggest pot-limit Omaha show in town may be in its latest stages as the $25,000 High Roller finishes up today, but there's still plenty of big buy-in PLO action available at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino today as it's time for the $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha Championship.

Today is the first of three days of the prestigious championship event, which was won last year by Tommy Le in a field of 438 runners for $938,732. All of the people who busted the high roller are surely still around, so the PLO championship should get a nice field once again as the game continues to gain steam as one of the most popular formats at the felt.

The plan for today is to play straight through with 10 one-hour levels and no dinner break, with 15-minute breaks after every other level. Players will get 50,000 starting stacks with a double level to start off at 100/200, progressing to 800/1,600.

Registration will remain open throughout the day and up until the start of tomorrow's Day 2.

Four-card action kicks off here at the Rio at 3 p.m. so stay tuned here on PokerNews to see one of the marquee events of the summer unfold.

History of PLO Championship

In 2005, Phil Ivey won the biggest buy-in Pot-Limit Omaha event at the series, a $5,000 freeze-out. He beat a field of 134 players to take home $635,603, the biggest share of the $1,765,568 prize pool.

The next year, the event doubled its buy-in with Lee Watkinson taking down the event after beating 217 opponents. In 2007, the event was scaled back to a $5,000 buy-in but now with rebuys. The next year, it was back to $10,000 and the event has had that buy-in ever since.

While a $25,000 edition of the popular game has been introduced in 2015, the $10,000 edition remains a popular event with last year's edition setting a record in terms of attendance with 428 players.

$10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha Over the Years

YearEntriesPrize PoolWinnerCountryPrize
2006218$2,049,200Lee WatkinsonUnited States$655,746
2007145$2,891,000Burt BoutinUnited States$868,745*
2008381$3,581,400Marty SmythIreland$859,549
2009295$2,773,000Matt GrahamUnited States$679,402
2010346$3,252,400Daniel AlaeiUnited States$780,599
2011361$3,393,400Ben LambUnited States$814,436
2012293$2,754,200Jan-Peter JachtmannGermany$661,000
2013386$3,628,400Daniel AlaeiUnited States$852,692
2014418$3,929,200Pat WalshUnited States$923,379
2015387$3,637,800Alexander PetersenDenmark$927,655
2016400$3,760,000Brandon Shack-HarrisUnited States$894,300
2017428$4,023,200Tommy LeUnited States$938,732

* In 2007, the event was a $5,000 with rebuys.