2021 World Series of Poker

Event #16: $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship
Dias: 2

FiveThirtyEight's Nate Silver Reaches $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship Final Table; Racener in the Lead

Nível 18 : 10,000-20,000, 0 ante
Nate Silver
Nate Silver

Day 2 of Event #16: $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship has been brought to a close after 13 hours that featured several pros register late, an extended money bubble, and an extra level to bring them down to the final 10 players.

It is John Racener who will lead the way into tomorrow's final table. Racener was the only player to bag more than one million chips, finishing the night with 1,090,000. Right behind him is Eric Kurtzman, the Day 1 chip leader who kept up that momentum to end up with 975,000. Jason Somerville (670,000), Scott Tuttle (650,000), and Kevin Song (515,000) round out the top-five.

FiveThirtyEight.com founder Nate Silver will be one to watch on the final day. The well-known author, statistician, and poker aficionado will return in the middle of the pack with 440,000 in chips in search for WSOP glory.

Event #16: $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship Final Table Seating & Chip Counts

SeatPlayerCountryChip Count
1Scott TuttleUnited States650,000
2John MonnetteUnited States270,000
3Ray DehkharghaniUnited States315,000
4Nate SilverUnited States440,000
5Jason SomervilleUnited States670,000
6Christopher ChungUnited States250,000
7Eric KurtzmanUnited States975,000
8Kevin SongUnited States515,000
9Terrence ChanCanada350,000
10John RacenerUnited States1,090,000
John Racener
John Racener

The penultimate day of the tournament began with 35 remaining players from Day 1, who would soon be joined by a number of pros taking advantage of late registration. Phil Hellmuth, Matt Glantz, Dan Smith, Mike Gorodinsky, and Ben Yu all took their seat at the start of Day 2, creating a field of 92 players. They would hit the rail before the money bubble, along with Mike Matusow, Benny Glaser, and Erik Seidel.

Play tightened up considerably as the bubble approached. Hand-for-hand play lasted more than an hour before Yuri Dzivielevski was eliminated in 15th place. Chad Eveslage, Casey McCarrel, the loud and energetic "Crazy" Mike Thorpe, and Brian Rast were sent to the payout cage after the bubble burst.

With the final five players being streamed tomorrow at 4 p.m. PST on PokerGO, play needed to be extended an extra level to bring the field down to 10 players. They will return at 2 p.m. and play until the final five when the live stream will begin.

The PokerNews team will be there to provide all the live updates throughout the day.

Prize pool

1 $245,680
2 $151,842
3 $108,747
4 $79,210
5 $58,697
6 $44,263
7 $33,979
8 $26,561
9 $21,149
10 $18,506
11Brian Rast$18,506
12Mike Thorpe$16,920
13Casey McCarrel$16,920
14Chad Eveslage$16,920

Tags: Ben YuBenny GlaserBrian RastCasey McCarrelChad EveslageDan SmithEric KurtzmanErik SeidelJason SomervilleJohn RacenerKevin SongMatt GlantzMike GorodinskyMike MatusowMike ThorpePhil HellmuthScott TuttleYuri Dzivielevski